10 must-read African Romance Novels

I have recently read several african romance novels that I would like to share with you my beloved readers.  I strongly recommend these novels that are very easily available on the web.

Some of these books, I have read years back, while others I have completed quite recently.

Romance is my choice of novel to unwind, or while travelling on a plane. You can imagine how excited I was  when I came across african authors working in this genre.

Two resources for African romance novels:

  1. Romance writers organization of SA
  2. Romance writers of West Africa

A quick list of the authors I mentioned here and a link to their website:

Unoma Nwankwor  : If you are looking for faith-based romantic novels – she is your girl

Unoma Nwankwor is a romantic at heart. Born in  Akron, Ohio to Nigerian parents. She spent her childhood and early adulthood years in Port-Harcourt, Nigeria. She is the COO of KevStel Group LLC, a faith-based entertainment company aimed at providing uplifting and life changing entertainment through its movies and books.  Unoma is also the published author of An Unexpected Blessing (2013) , The Christmas Ultimatum(2013), When You Let Go (May,2014) and A Scoop of Love (Jan , 2015) She has numerous published flash fiction and short stories. Her work has appeared in Africa Book Club, USA Today HEA blog and the Kenyan Ezine ;Wamathai and well as numerous radio shows and blogs. She is currently working on her next novel Anchored.

Twitter: @unomanwankwor

Kiru Taye : She is my new favourite author, I will be reading all of her books very soon, especially the historical novels which is my favourite genre.

Kiru Taye is the author of the award-winning book, His Treasure,  and best-selling series, The Essiens. She writes historical, contemporary and paranormal romance. Her stories are sensual and steamy, her characters passionate and sassy and her settings, atmospheric and exotic.

Twitter: @Kirutaye

Tolulope Popoola: I recently  discover the fictional series she co-writes and read it all in 2 days. Amazing work. It made me want to read her novel a second time.

Welcome to my blog! My name is Tolulope Popoola (aka Favoured Girl), and I’m a reader, writer and lover of books and literature. I used to be an Accountant, until one day a light bulb went off in my head. I couldn’t imagine working as an accountant for the rest of my life. Over a few months of agonising and researching myself, I rediscovered my love for writing and left my job to write full-time in 2008. I now write short stories, poems, flash fiction and articles for magazines. My first novel is titled Nothing Comes CloseIt’s based on the online fiction series, In My Dreams It Was Simpler which I created and co-wrote with eight other great bloggers.

Twitter @TolulopePopoola

Abimbola Dare: Excellent book, faith-based I would say. This author is very talented.

Abimbola Dare commenced her writing career as a blogger (bimbylads) in 2006.  She is the author of The Small Print and the hugely popular short story, ‘The No-nonsense wife’ (originally published on Bella Naija in 2012)which instantly became an internet sensation and later made into a short film. ‘When Broken Chords Sing’, is her second novel.

 Twitter: @bimbylads.

Instagram:@abimboladareauthor

Have you read any of these books? Please share your thoughts and your recommendation below!